Facebook has been under the heat for how it tracks its users’ data. As such, it has been improving its practices, lately, in an aim to give users more control over sharing their data. It’s latest effort in this matter is enhancing the location setting for Android users.
The social media giant has improved its location setting to give Android users the option to allow (or not!) Facebook to collect their location data when they are not using the app. Such option was previously available only for iOS users.
Facebook explains the new option as follows:
“Today we’re introducing a new background location control on Facebook for Android so people can choose if they want us to collect location information when they’re not using the app. For example, when people choose to use Nearby Friends, a feature that lets friends share their locations with each other, they give Facebook permission to access their location even when they’re not using the app. Until today, people using these features were asked to enable Location History. If you enabled this setting, two things happened: you would share your location when you weren’t using the app and you would allow Facebook to store a history of your precise locations. With this update, you’ll have a dedicated way to choose whether or not to share your location when you aren’t using the app.”
Read more here.