WhatsApp rolls out a ‘View Once’ option

Rolling out a dedicated ‘View Once’ option, WhatsApp users can now make their pictures and videos available only once before they get automatically erased. 

Despite the feature sounding like yet another replica of Snapchat’s unique feature, disappearing images and videos in chats is always welcome news giving users more control over their chats’ privacy.

Stressing on privacy, WhatsApp had this to say about the new disappearing media feature:

“As with all the personal messages you send on WhatsApp, View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption so WhatsApp cannot see them. They will also be clearly marked with a new “one-time” icon.”

One thing to note though is that unlike Snapchat, WhatsApp users won’t receive a notification if the recipient takes a screenshot of their “View-once” media.

Learn more here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s